E-Bike Conversion – Software

e-bike_conversion(pic21)

It’s been a while since I wrote the posts about my electric bicycle conversion project. The bicycle runs fine so far and I finally finished rewriting the software that configures its controller.

I will not make a long post for this so you won’t get bored. Basically I took the original software which also included all required source files and made it look better, fixed many bugs, improved its operation and added a small help file. Now you don’t need administrative rights under windows 8 and 10 to be able to see the available COM ports. The interface looks more tidy and well aligned and also uses better English. Numerous bugs were fixed, regarding error messages and error checking, communication, parameter limits and so on. I found this program as an open source (including all source files) I am providing it the same way.

Be advised! Doing any changes to your controller might lead to damage. I won’t be held responsible for any kind of damage you might induce to your controller, motor, gears, bicycle or yourself. Do what you like at your own risk! Cycle safe and take care for others on the road!

You can download the program HERE.

17 thoughts on “E-Bike Conversion – Software

  1. Hi Stefan, Thank you for sharing this very useful software.
    Why the StartCurrent% in pedal assist tab can not be set to a value greater than 20% ? My bbs02 came with a greater value.
    Regards
    Jean-Marie

    1. Thank you for the comment. I will check if there is any mistake there, but all limits were there in the original tool. Might be my mistake. Too high current wouldn’t be very good for the plastic gear inside though. This will be impulse load to it which will wear it out faster.

  2. Nice tool, but seems to have a problem with the BBSHD:

    Bug report: Somehow on my BBSHD, the basic settings do not save correctly. When I save and the read back the just saved values, the values for PAS 7, 8 and 9 get corrupted and instead of saving “external, wheel meter”, it saves “by motor phase” and speed meter signals go from 1 to 24 or something.

    1. I don’t have access to BBSHD so I can’t test the software with one. I’ve been told by other users that is works fine. I can’t say that for sure though. I don’t have the time to debug it with that controller using user feedback. I am sorry.

  3. I found the problem. Apparently %Current values need to be divisible by 2. Having any odd numbers here causes weird side issues.

    1. OK, that sounds strange. I used both even and odd numbers all around my setting and didn’t have any issues. Have you tried the original tool that I based mine on? It is supposed to work the same way besides the fact there are no limits set there so it returns an error when you try to set a value over the limit in the firmware of your controller.
      It is also possible that Bafang are using different tool for BBSHD because of new firmware.
      I am really sorry, but I can’t help much with BBSHD. I own BBS02 and it is very difficult to debug such issues without having the controller in question to test with.

    2. Yes, same issue with the original tool. Once I switch all settings to numbers divisible by 2, it works. I can give you my exact settings. BTW: The serial logic level going to the motor – do you know if it is 12V or 5V?

  4. Hi Stefan
    Thanks for your brilliant posts on the whole project, your inspiration has just cost me a fortune for a BBS02, a battery pack and a bike to put them on !
    My conversion took all day last Saturday, like you I had a major problem removing the old bottom bracket.
    I already have a Giant La Free e bike I use for commuting to work but find it in need of a couple more gears to slow my cadence when cruising, (and a bit more power for the hills).
    I have been waiting for a Higo cable to arrive from Germany so I can make a programming lead.
    It arrived today and I have re-set the max current down from 25 to 18 amps effectively making it a 500 watt motor, the bike still goes like the wind and the motor doesn’t even get warm !
    Also nice job with the software, and thanks for the help file it makes programming much clearer.
    I agree with your reasoning for selecting the Bafang mid motor, I also would add that the motor setup must be configurable by me !

    1. Thank you for the kind words about my project! It was an interesting experience for me. I know this controller has some limitations, but it is still a lot cheaper than a factory made bike and has some extra features like throttle and more speed and power.
      In July I tried Cannondale 29″ MTB with Bosch motor for a day in Rome, Italy. It was only 250W and limited to 25km/h according to the law. It had great torque, because of the very small chain ring at the front. Since that was 29″ pedaling was possible up to about 30-35km/h (motor stops above 25). I really liled the torque sensor in the motor. It makes pedaling very natural unlike the BBS02. Two things I didn’t like and those are the 25km/h limit and the lack of throttle. I’ve used throttle one when I had to carry some big box with my bike and couldn’t use the pedals. If that wasn’t available I would have to walk and push the bike.

  5. Is this tool useful for other BAFANG controllers, like the ones that control 36V 350W Geared BAFANG Hub Motors

    1. I don’t know. The original tool didn’t say anything about that. It might be compatibe, but it might not be. If you try it is at your own risk. Even reading data from the controller is actually sending a command to ask for that data so it might mess-up with your controller.

  6. Hello and thank you for this great piece of software!!!!! I have a question/problem:
    I just finished mounting a 8fun 750W on my mountain bike. everything if great and power is plenty BUT i have this problem: if I start riding especially with a high ( hard) gear and a high level of assistance ( example 5, 6 or more) the motor starts to give power in an intermittent way and then after two or three full laps of chainring stabilizes and goes fine. But it’s really bad to start from zero and having the bike jumping like that. I try to explain better:the phenomenon only show up when i start pedaling but When the pas is lower levels the “intermittent start of the motor” ( that is the real problem) is less present especially if i start pedalling with a light gear ( example rear cassette at 32teeth). INSTEAD if i start pedaling with a hard to push gear ( example cassette at 11teeth) and especially with more power requested to assist ( higher levels of pas) is more evident. For example if i have to start the bike in a climb and i didn’t previously lowered the gear, so I’m in hard to push pedals ( 11teeth)….to start the bike i start pedaling and the motor start to assist me intermittently untill i don’t reach a minimum speed.
    EVERYTHING works fine once the bike is launched and started….it ONLY happens when i start pedaling on hard gear.
    in this video you can see the phenomenon described even if already started pedaling ( you see in video as vibrations due to not smooth power from motor). http://youtu.be/chcjvybu5cY
    Do you think that is normal or that i can edit parameters like “Slow start mode” to solve this?
    THANXXXXXXXXXXXX so much!!!!

    1. Sorry for the late answer. Your message went into spam for some reason.
      I can’t clearly see in the video what is going on with the motor. What I think is that your power ramp-up setting is too low, meaning the current increases too fast. It is possible that actually it reaches the maximum current and stops for short amount of time to prevent overload and damage. You can try to increase the ramp-up time in settings (with the software). Try also to avoid this motor start situation as you have one plastic gear in the motor and loads that high are wearing it off faster. Starting to pedal from a full stop should be on a lighter gear and not on a high PAS setting. This way you will get smooth start. I am still trying to find the best settings on my bike, but I haven’t had such issues as I like to have the smooth start. The problem is that there is no torque sensor like Bosch for example. That’s how their electric bikes have such nice and smooth feeling, almost like there is no motor at all and you just have more power in your legs.

    2. Great! Thanks I will follow your suggestion!!! Also… You man are a genius with software …why don’t you work on a way to upgrade the dcp14 color monitor so it can work fully with 52v batteries? And maybe also have data from BMS?

  7. ps: by “power ramp” do you mean the “start current %” on pedal assist menu? or what?🙂

  8. Hi,
    I am waiting for my BBS01 to arrive, does your software work with the newest controllers ( B versions ) ?

    Regards

    Alex

    1. Hi Alex,
      I don’t know if it works with the new versions. I don’t have one to test it with. You can try it when you get yours. If the software detects the controller type without problems, then you should be able to use it, but I can’t say if all parameters would be programmed to the controller in the same way so be careful and save the initial state of all settings before you start experimenting.

Your comment:

